Fast Food Rehab

Every year I tell myself that I will stop eating fast food or that I will try to round out my diet a little more to include additional fruits and vegetables. I might begin such resolutions with the full intent of completing them, but every year I find my hands dipping into the golden arches of gluttony.

Favorite Redding Breakfast

Favorite Redding Breakfast – All Images Captured on my Canon 60D

Fast food exists everywhere, even in our quaint little Chinese city. But don’t let me mislead you, there is only one such restaurant and it’s called Dico’s. They primarily serve fried chicken sandwiches and bean paste ice cream. To their defense, it’s really difficult to leave there feeling full. This is an uncommon feeling in American fast food joints, as I always leave looking like I swallowed a 3rd grader.

My great eastern diet has one simple ingredient- living in rural China for three months. This gives me the advantage of not being able to pull up to a taco shop, pizza parlor or gut truck and swallow two days worth of calories in five minutes. To ingest the same amount of calories I’d have to plant myself at a noodle shop for 4 hours straight.

Now comes the hard part. After having the ability to use a drive thru and get my caloric fix at a moments notice, my body is going to crave all the lazy deliciousness they had me hooked on. Simple sugars and saturated fats… More addictive than crack. I guess China is my fast food rehab. I don’t intend to make myself sound morbidly obese. I’m still fairly active and manage to keep most of the pounds off. But, as I’m sure everyone knows, a few less pounds wouldn’t hurt.

Here are a few of my recent favorite dishes. Click one each photo to enlarge.

11 thoughts on “Fast Food Rehab

  1. Getting your daily supply of fruits is always a problem. We know we need this to stay healthy but in the fast lives we lead we don’t do it. My wife and I now use a juice product that gives us all the fruits we need every day. Contact us for more info.

  2. Pingback: A Thin Layer of Fat | Happiest Baby in the World

  3. Thanks on your marvelous posting! I actually enjoyed
    reading it, you can be a great author.I will make certain to bookmark your blog and may
    come back sometime soon. I want to encourage continue your
    great work, have a nice morning!

  4. It’s a pity you don’t have a donate button! I’d most certainly donate to this superb blog! I suppose for now i’ll settle for bookmarking and adding your RSS feed to my Google account.

    I look forward to new updates and will talk about
    this blog with my Facebook group. Chat soon!

  5. Bean paste ice cream? This I have to try. If you want to avoid fast food, don’t come to London. Just down my street is a McDonald’s, Burger King, KFC, Subway, and I know I’m forgetting at least one. I try to avoid, but when I’m coming home late from the pub I’m snacky.

      • London is beautiful over the holidays. Cold, but beautiful. If you are here, I recommend popping into Hyde Park to visit Winter Wonderland. It’s a Christmas festival and they have rides for the young and adults. Be warned though, the grilled sausages and mulled wine are so good and too hard to pass up. But it’s Christmas, how can you not.

Leave a Reply

